I am the daughter of the king


It’s only been within the last few years that I’ve begun to understand what it means to be a child of God, the daughter of the King, to be exact. I am the daughter of the King. That’s heavy.

I don’t recall the exact moment in time when I started to realize what this means, but I do recall experiencing a shift in my thinking and expectations. I recall being counseled by the Holy Spirit to meditate on and think about the behavior an earthly princess exhibits. She knows her father is the most powerful person in the land. She understands the rights and privileges bestowed upon her, not because of anything she’s done or earned, or could have done or earned, but simply because of her pedigree. She has an expectation of ask and receive, seek and find, and knock and open. She has favor with the king. She knows that she will be granted her desires simply because she is the daughter of the King. She loves her father and knows that she is the apple of his eye and that he would do anything to protect her. She walks with an air of confidence that comes from knowing her lineage and the security it brings. Her place near the king is secure. After all, she is his daughter.

She can speak commands and the king’s servants will do as she asks. Even those that are not within the king’s circle or family understand and respect her sovereignty. The ones who would seek to hurt her can’t help but obey her commands and submit to her authority. Why? Because they know she is the daughter of the king.

Thinking on these things blew my mind. I am the daughter of the King. I am the daughter of the King. It was starting to sink in. I am the daughter of the King!

I began to think about my relationship with my earthly father. Even in this relationship I recognized the privileges I have because I am my father’s daughter. I have favor with him. I have access to him that others don’t because I am his child. No matter what I do wrong, my dad will always forgive me and continue to love me. Even though I am now in my mid-forties, I know that my dad will do anything within his power to protect me. All I have to do is pick up a phone and ask anything of him and he will do it for me. In fact, I don’t ask him for anything because I don’t want to feel as if I’m taking advantage of him. This frustrates him somewhat because I know he wants to do things for me. This got me to thinking once again about my relationship with God. Have I been treating Him the same way I treat my earthly father? Do I fail to ask things from God because of feelings of guilt? My answer? Yes. That’s exactly what I have been doing. God has already done so much for me, so why should I ask for more? Because God wants to provide for me. God wants to do things for me. I am his child, his daughter, but I haven’t been behaving like his daughter. When I realized this, I began to adjust my attitude. I began to walk with my head held high. I began to see myself as the daughter of the King.

This new understanding about my relationship with God isn’t about my ability to ask for things. It’s about confidence. It’s about privilege. It’s about knowing who I am. In the past, if someone had asked, “Who are you?” the easiest response would have been to give my name. Now, if someone asks, “Who are you?” I can respond, “I am the daughter of the King.”

Who are you?


Your throne, O God, is forever and ever;
A scepter of uprightness is the scepter of Your kingdom.
You have loved righteousness and hated wickedness;
Therefore God, Your God, has anointed You
With the oil of joy above Your fellows.
All Your garments are fragrant with myrrh and aloes and cassia;
Out of ivory palaces stringed instruments have made You glad.
Kings’ daughters are among Your noble ladies;
At Your right hand stands the queen in gold from Ophir.

Listen, O daughter, give attention and incline your ear:
Forget your people and your father’s house;
Then the King will desire your beauty.
Because He is your Lord, bow down to Him.
The daughter of Tyre will come with a gift;
The rich among the people will seek your favor.

The King’s daughter is all glorious within;
Her clothing is interwoven with gold.
She will be led to the King in embroidered work;
The virgins, her companions who follow her,
Will be brought to You.
They will be led forth with gladness and rejoicing;
They will enter into the King’s palace.

Psalm 45:6-15


Father, help us to always remember that we are Your daughters, that we are daughters of the King. Teach us how to walk and speak in this manner, not with haughty attitudes, but with confidence, favor, and love. In Jesus name, Amen.

10 thoughts on “I am the daughter of the king

  1. I too am a DADDY’s Girl, a revelation I’ve really owned over the last two years, and wrote a book about. How awesome that your dad prepared you to receive DADDY God and all you have in Him! Not all of us have that testimony. Great post. God bless!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comments! You know, the interesting thing is that I didn’t really see myself as a daddy’s girl until I was an adult. It was then that I realized my privilege as my father’s daughter. I remember being in awe when I realized the extent of what my father would do for me. Even still, it was many years after receiving Christ before I made the connection between my position as my natural father’s daughter and my position as my heavenly father’s daughter. That connection wasn’t made until a few years ago. I’m sure God was shaking His head at me thinking, it’s about time! I was a little slow on that one lol. I had to go through some life changes in order to understand. I had a King Uzziah moment. Several, really.

      Congratulations on your book! I’d love to learn more about it. I’ll check it out on your blog page. God bless!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It would take more than our lifetime to understand and appreciate God’s heart toward us. We’re all in the same boat!

        Thanks for the compliment and the follow 😊. Have a great weekend and Happy Mother’s Day!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Word tells us to love others as ourselves. I obviously am having a hard time loving myself because I am so distant to love from others. Pray for me that I resolve these heart issues and return to my natural vibrancy.

    Like

    • Father, I pray that my sister comes into deeper understanding of and acceptance of who she is in You. Show her your love and remind her that she doesn’t have to rely on her own love or the love of others because the love You have for her is more than enough. Embrace her and comfort her and bring her peace. Help her to release the tension from the burden she’s been carrying all these years. In Jesus name, Amen.

      God says He loves you and always will. He’s been saying that all along, but you don’t believe Him. Or maybe you don’t trust it. God is not like man. He doesn’t lie and His word will never return void. Turn towards Him for comfort. Turn towards Him for love. Focus on how much God loves you. There is power in our tongue, so speak aloud “God loves me” as often as it comes to mind and remember that you are the daughter of the King.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Amen! I had to repent and confess because all the love I have received expecting my daughter, I have almost ignored. My expectations of good things dropped low after the death of my grandmother when I was pregnant with ny first son in 2014. I have been praying to be restored to joy and thanksgiving. My father did not come to my wedding or ny son’s birth and my hope in man has dwindled, and with it, my confidence. Thank you for writing this. It has helped me to think differently about the rock of my salvation and how I must know He wants the best for me.

    Like

    • Yes! This message is definitely for you. I’m so glad you read it and were encouraged. God’s timing is always perfect. He knows what we need when we need it. My dear, please always remember that you are not your circumstances. You are who God says you are and he says you are His daughter. YOU are the daughter of the King. One of my favorite things to do is to tape signs and scriptures to my bathroom mirror so that I can find encouragement even when I’m brushing my teeth. Find ways to remind yourself of who you are and whose you are. That way when life throws you a sucker punch, which it often does, you won’t have to go far for encouragement. I love you and pray blessings over you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • We have twin bathrooms! Commit your works to the LORD And your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:3 AND – For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind 2 Timothy 1:7 are in my bathroom with little flower backgrounds. I have let circumstances slip into my assurance, you are exactly right. I am fighting! The enemy is trying to prevent me from starting a mentorship circle for young women. They need !wisdom from those who have been where they are. I must depend on the Lord so the sweet little ones can be blessed through my testimony. Thank you for responding

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

