Blinded no more


One of my favorite scriptures in the bible is Isaiah 6:1. Actually, the whole chapter is pretty awesome. I remember the first time I ever heard someone preach from this text. It struck me and has stayed with me ever since. This is Isaiah talking about his experience in seeing the Lord in a vision. I guess the thing that really sticks with me about this verse is that Isaiah didn’t fully receive his calling into prophecy until King Uzziah died. It wasn’t until after his earthly king died that Isaiah was able to see his heavenly King. The day I heard this sermon, the preacher asked, “What needs to die in your life in order for you to see God?” Wow. Even now, I still get chills from that.

It’s easy to get caught up in things we like to call “life”, but the sad reality is what often happens is we allow something or someone to enter into our lives and block our vision of God and God’s plan for us. Is this really “life” or our flesh? I’ve just ended a year-long on again/off again relationship with someone who I allowed myself to focus on more than God. Now that the relationship has ended, I can see much clearer now. In fact, one thing I’ve noticed is that since I said goodbye for good, I’ve been receiving more spiritual deposits than I have in a long time. These deposits have been encouraging and providing responses to things I’ve been praying about and was still waiting for God to answer. The reality is, God had answered. I just didn’t know it. I didn’t realize my lack of focus, rather focusing on the wrong thing, was causing me to not receive my answers. I have since completely removed all points of access this person had to me in the natural. I mean all social media blocked and phone number blocked, along with a final message telling him not to contact me again ever. It wasn’t until I removed his access to me that God regained access to me. God didn’t go anywhere. He was there all the time, but I wasn’t turned towards him. I was distracted. I was looking at something else.

One of the spiritual deposits I received happened last night during a conversation with a friend. We were talking about moving into new home and I told her that I’d received some good advice from someone a long time ago who said each time she moves, she gives away her old furniture and gets new furniture. The point is not that she’s made of money, but that she understands the concept of not putting old wine in new wineskins (Matthew 9:17). At that moment in my conversation, I realized that this not only applies to personal possessions, but also to relationships. I don’t know why, but it never occurred to me before. I’d been praying for God to send me someone, but I hadn’t yet made room for that person because I was still nursing an old relationship that should have died a long time ago. I hadn’t made room for him in my life. Now that the old relationship has ended, a new one can begin. And, now that I have better vision, I can see that maybe the one I’ve been waiting for has been here the whole time. I was so busy focusing on one thing when I didn’t realize the one I should have been focusing on might have been right in front of me the whole time. We’ll see. God is good!


“In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne…”
— Isaiah 6:1

Lord, thank you for always being there. Even when I’m looking at everything and everyone, but you, you never leave me. For that I am truly grateful. I am humbled by your dedication to me for I know that I am not worthy. I know that it is because I am your child that you dote on me, forgive me, and love me. And for that, I will always love you. In Jesus name, amen.

 

One thought on “Blinded no more

Leave a Reply

